Thank you and see you next year, 28-29 April 2018!

HSBC Singapore Rugby 7s

Singapore is proud to host the 8th tournament of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series on 15 & 16 April 2017. The 2016/17 Series kicks off in Dubai in December 2016. Across each leg, 16 international teams will play 45 matches over two days.

The HSBC Singapore Rugby 7s is a two day fiesta for everyone to enjoy world class rugby and entertainment in the iconic Singapore Sports Hub.

A top class tournament and an Olympic discipline, Rugby Sevens is addictive and ultra-friendly to all. It’s also a huge carnival, creating the biggest festival atmosphere in sports!

Rugby Sevens is a thrill ride of non-stop action, with no time outs and endless breath-taking feats from the best players in the world. High energy? You bet! Explosive? Of course! Spectacular? To the max!

2017 Theme: Show your colours

Why tell us who you support, when you can show us instead?

On 15 & 16 April 2017, show us your colours and let’s rock, ruck & rumble!

Seize your chance to display your fierce passion for Rugby Sevens. Paint your face, decorate your body, go wild with props! Wear your feelings right out there for everyone to see, and charge headfirst into a glorious celebration of the love we all feel for the game.

So can you step up and take on the challenge? Show your colours, your creativity and your camaraderie! Together, let’s transform Singapore’s National Stadium into a dazzling sea of colours!

Intro to Rugby Sevens

Rugby Sevens is played on a full-size pitch by teams of seven players as opposed to the traditional fifteen players. The game is shorter in duration, with each half lasting seven minutes during the pool stages of a tournament, and increasing to ten for the final.

Fewer players on a full-size pitch creates a frenetic and explosive spectacle which delivers more entertainment for fans. The Sevens tournaments are traditionally known for having a more relaxed atmosphere than the Fifteens. Fancy dress has become synonymous with Rugby Sevens and the event is traditionally held with a carnival atmosphere.

New Zealand has by far been the dominant force in the HSBC World Sevens Series, winning 12 out of the 15 seasons. However, in recent years, other teams have challenged this dominance. Fiji is currently the defending champion.

Rugby field:

Rugby at a glance

Fewer players on the pitch means a faster game – running and evasion skills, good passing and crafty footwork become important

Five substitutes, with five interchanges

Seven-minute halves, though ten-minute halves are allowed in the final of a competition

One or two minutes’ half time

All conversion must be taken within 40 seconds of scoring a try

In Sevens, the team that has just scored kicks off rather than the conceding team

Yellow cards net a 2-minute suspension to the offender and a power play is awarded to the opposing team

The scrum is reduced from 8 to 3 players, just the front row

The backs have the usual scrumhalf and fly-half but only one centre and one wing (instead of two). There is no fullback, wing covers that position.

In major tournaments, there are additional officials present (in-goal touch judges) to judge success of kicks at goals to ensure there is no delay to the game.

sponsorship 3 sponsorship 3 sponsorship 3